Ubisoft announces Rainbow Six World Cup, 1 slot for Indian Subcontinent (APAC South)

By |

  • Ubisoft has announced Rainbow Six World Cup for 2021.
  • A total of 20 national teams will compete in the championship.
  • One team from Indian subcontinent will get the chance to participate.

Ubisoft has announced a brand new championship, Rainbow Six World Cup, in the Ubisoft Forward event on September 10, 2020. The R6 world cup will see 20 teams from 45 countries compete for the title. Out of the total 20 teams, 14 will directly be invited and the other 6 teams will be selected by the local players, coaches, and other stakeholders from 31 countries.

The directly invited teams are Germany, Spain, the UK, Italy, France, and Russia from Europe, Korea, Japan, Taiwan, and Australia in APAC, both Canada and the US in North America, and Mexico and Brazil in Latin America. Now, out of the 6 to-be-selected teams, one slot is reserved for the Indian subcontinent which includes India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh.

rainbow six world cup countries

Process of Team Formation for R6 World Cup

The process of team selection will commence in Fall 2020.

  • All 45 countries will select three team managers each.
    • One manager will be from Ubisoft.
    • The second will be decided by the local pro players.
    • The last one will be the community elected.
  • The three selected team mangers will finally select a national team of five players.
rainbow six world cu team selection process

Rules for the Rainbow Six World Cup 2021

  • To be eligible to become a team manager, candidates must:
    • be at least 18 years old by September 1st, 2020
    • have citizenship by January 1st, 2020
  • A national team can include a maximum of 2 players involved in the same pro organization (based on Nov. 2020 pro organizations rosters)

For the first time in Rainbow Six Esports history, players from 45 countries and regions across the world will compete at the highest level to become the one team that will make history by bringing home the very first Rainbow Six World Cup trophy. The Rainbow Six World Cup is the latest addition to the Rainbow Six Esports ecosystem, as an independent layer of competition and the first ever country-based tournament for Rainbow Six Siege. The Rainbow Six World Cup is also a unique and unprecedented opportunity for fans to share their love, pride and unconditional support with the team that will represent them on the worldwide stage.

Ubisoft Blog

Read More: ESL cancels CSGO Rio Major 2020 due to COVID 19, upcoming LAN events also postponed

Authored by

Wannabe computer scientist. Ba3a covers everything tech.